Reviews

Review, Kill Doctor Lucky

Kill Doctor Lucky

Published by Paizo

Designed by James Ernest

Kill Doctor Luck is the first “hobby board game” I ever purchased.  It is one of my favorite games.

When I am describing it to non-gamers,  tell them that is like Clue in reverse.  In Clue, you are trying to solve a murder.  In Kill Doctor Lucky, you are attempting a murder.

You play as one of the staff or house guests.  Murder is the name of the game, and your goal is to kill the wandering doctor without any other character witnessing the deed.

When you are attempting to murder the doctor, the games becomes a semi-cooperative game as your opponents will play Failure cards to thwart your attempt.  If they cannot collectively stop you, you have succeeded and you win the game.

The game board is the beautiful estate of the poor, clueless, ill-fated, Doctor Lucky.  It is brightly colored and very easy to tell what each room is.  The cards are very nicely designed and have a good feel to them.

The fluff makes this game fun.  If you just played the game by it’s rules, I’m sure one would have a good time.  But when you play with me, I have a house rule.  You MUST always read the fluff at the bottom of the cards when you play them.  It creates a story, it creates moments that you can visualize.   You are attempting to kill Doctor Lucky with a tight hat when he suddenly starts spinning around.  Doesn’t that sound more fun than, I play this card to attempt a murder.  Ok, I play this Failure card.  Snore.  Boring.  The fluff that they provided makes the game in my opinion.

Again, this is one of my favorite games of my collection.

One thought on “Review, Kill Doctor Lucky

  1. Pingback: All my games | Cloak And Meeple

Leave a Reply

